We make Hangar Prep. This is our own comparison, not an independent review. Every competitor fact comes from that provider's own website, linked under Sources.
Mechanic, remote pilot and IA candidates usually choose between test prep software from an established aviation publisher, a video ground school, or a low-cost question bank. This page sets Hangar Prep beside the options people most often consider, using each provider's own published prices and features, and says plainly where each one is the better choice.
Prices and features checked 11 October 2026 on each provider's own website.
| Hangar Prep | Gleim Aviation | ASA Prepware | King Schools | Pilot Institute (Part 107) | Dauntless Aviation | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $49 once, all five tests | A&P test prep set $179.95 ($69.95 per test); Maintenance School set $349.95; Remote Pilot kit $119.95 | A&P Prepware $149.95; IA and Remote Pilot $49.95 each | A&P test prep kit $179 ($79 per test); Part 107 course $129; full A&P video course $595 | $159 (Part 107 only) | A&P bundle $159.99; single test banks about $60 |
| Access | Lifetime, up to 3 devices | 24 months (A&P); 12 months online (Remote Pilot kit) | 24-month online subscription with the download | Lifetime (Part 107 course); not stated for the A&P apps | Lifetime | Lifetime free updates; Windows licence not transferable between platforms |
| Free to try | One full practice test on every test, no sign-up | Free course demos | Free demo | Free companion app | Free lesson preview | Demo download |
| Question bank | 2,347 questions for General, Airframe, Powerplant, Part 107 and IA, including the FAA's published sample questions; explanations cite the handbook chapter or 14 CFR | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 300+ quiz questions plus unlimited practice exams | Not stated |
| Teaching | None: practice questions with written explanations | Video presentations in the Online Maintenance School set | None (test prep software) | Video ground school (Part 107; A&P course $595); flashcards, mobile apps | 200+ video lessons, live office hours, flashcard app | None (test prep software) |
| Ground school course | No | Yes, in the $349.95 Maintenance School set | No | Yes (Part 107 course; A&P course $595) | Yes (Part 107 only) | No |
| Guarantee or refund | Full refund within 14 days | Money back if you fail first time (Maintenance School set, bought direct) | Not stated | Part 107: money back if you fail within a year; A&P apps: 30-day refund | Pass first time or a full refund plus $175 | Not stated |
Swipe sideways on a phone to see every column.
Stronger than Hangar Prep on: a video ground school option, a first-attempt money-back guarantee on the Maintenance School set, exam-interface emulation, and a Remote Pilot kit with a printed book and FAR/AIM.
Where Hangar Prep is stronger: $49 for all five tests against $179.95 for the three A&P tests, lifetime access against 24 months, and IA included.
Stronger than Hangar Prep on: an established publisher of FAA test guides, offline desktop software, the full Airman Knowledge Testing Supplement figures, and printed test guides.
Where Hangar Prep is stronger: $49 for all five tests against $149.95 for A&P plus $49.95 each for IA and Remote Pilot, lifetime access against a 24-month subscription, and a full free practice test.
Stronger than Hangar Prep on: video ground schools, a Part 107 pass-or-money-back guarantee, flashcards, and offline iOS and Android apps.
Where Hangar Prep is stronger: $49 for all five tests against $179 for the A&P apps plus $129 for Part 107, and IA included.
Stronger than Hangar Prep on: a full video ground school, live office hours, a flashcard app, and a strong first-attempt guarantee.
Where Hangar Prep is stronger: $49 covering Part 107 and all four mechanic and IA tests, against $159 for Part 107 alone.
Stronger than Hangar Prep on: offline desktop software with lifetime free updates.
Where Hangar Prep is stronger: $49 for all five tests on up to 3 devices of any kind, against $159.99 for A&P on Windows, and IA included.
Every test has one full practice test free, with written explanations, and no sign-up. If it suits you, the full bank is $49 once for all five tests.
The FAA publishes sample questions free, and Hangar includes them with explanations. Hangar's full practice test on each test is free, and the full bank is $49 once for all five tests. On the pages we checked, ASA's A&P Prepware is $149.95, Dauntless's A&P bundle $159.99, and Gleim's and King Schools' A&P sets $179.95 and $179.
On the pages we checked, Pilot Institute promises a full refund plus $175 if you fail first time, and King Schools refunds you if you fail within a year of purchase. Hangar offers a full refund within 14 days instead.
Yes. Hangar covers IA alongside General, Airframe, Powerplant and Part 107 in one purchase. ASA sells IA Prepware separately at $49.95.
Every competitor fact was checked on the provider's own website on the date shown under Sources, and we re-check at least every four months. Confirm prices on the provider's site before you buy.
Every competitor fact on this page comes from that provider's own website, on the pages listed under Sources, on the date shown. Prices change and vary by state; check the provider's site before you buy. Hangar Prep is not affiliated with any provider named here; their names and trademarks belong to their owners. Spotted something out of date? Email [email protected] and we will correct it.